Menu

Queenswell Junior School

Reading

Welcome to our Reading page!

 

On this page you will be able to find out about all the latest news to do with reading in our school, book reviews to help you choose your next reading quest and competitions or events that are coming up!

 

Last year, we were very lucky to be awarded a grant from The Foyle Foundation to help fund our school Library.
Children will be able to visit the Library for ‘Reading for Pleasure’ time and lessons with their class and class teacher.

The Grand Opening of our School Library!
Picture 1
Picture 2
Picture 3
Picture 4
Picture 5
Picture 6

Other Books to look out for!

 

If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, you will probably love the new book ‘Fantastical Beasts’  by J.K.Rowling.

Some of the beasts will be familiar to readers of the Harry Potter books – the Hippogriff, the Basilisk, the Hungarian Horntail … Others will surprise even the most ardent amateur Magizoologist. Dip in to discover the curious habits of magical beasts across five continents.

‘No wizarding household is complete without a copy’ – Albus Dumbledore

 

 

For older children, The Goldfish Boy is a book about a twelve-year-old boy, Matthew, is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD. Until one day his neighbour disappears and he must become a detective to solve the mystery.

This story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

 

If you have read a book that you would like to share with the school, please see me to get it published on this page.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you to Parisa in 6DH for her book review for ‘The London Eye Mystery’ by Siobhan Dowd.

‘I believe this is a good book for Years 5 and 6. It is full of mystery and adventure. My favourite part was when Kat sneaks out to blow up a picture to see what a man’s t-shirt says…’

When their cousin, Salim, goes on the London Eye but never comes off it, Ted and Kat go on a big adventure to find out what happened to him…

 

 

 

GALLERY - READING AROUND THE SCHOOL

BOOK FAIR

BOOK FAIR 1

Thank You!!

Thank you to everyone that bought books at our recent Book Fair. We made over £700 in sales!

This meant that we had just over £300 to spend on new books for our School Library.  Take a look at some of our new titles…

Picture 1
Picture 2

SHORT STORY COMPETITION

The Queenswell Junior School Parliament recently ran a competition to write a short story in less than 400 words. Congratulations to the winners – Nuha Imran in 3VP and Kishan Modha in 6SN.

Here are their fantastic short stories…

 

The Gift 

Christmas was almost here and Lucy was extremely excited. She wondered what presents she would get. Several ideas came to her mind, a red flame scooter, a fluffy diary or a cuddly pet. Before she could think of any more ideas, Mum came and turned the light off. She sat with Lucy for a while and told her an interesting story until Lucy fell asleep. In her dreams, Lucy met Santa who gave her a mystery present and took her on a magnificent journey high above the roof tops in his sleigh. 

The next morning, she was so delighted because it was finally Christmas day. She changed into her special clothes as fast as possible and began to eat her breakfast hastily. 

“Slow down, the presents won’t run away!” Mum said with a laugh. 

Soon Lucy asked her Mum is she could open her gifts but Mum replied that she should wait for Peter and Dad. Peter was Lucy’s little brother. Feeling eager and inquisitive, Lucy crept into the living room where the Christmas tree was.

There, the presents sat under the  tree. Lucy grabbed the first one with her name on it, tiptoed to her room, opened the gift and discovered a wand! Just the, Peter bashed opened her room door and at the same moment she flicked her wand. Peter began to shrink and black, grey and white feathers shot out of him. He had turned into a turkey!! Looking astonished, Peter waddled down the stairs to the living room. He gobbled about and knocked things to the floor. Mum heard the noise, rushed in and was shocked to see the turkey and the mess. Mum asked Lucy where she had got the wand from and Lucy replied that she thought that they had given it to her. Feeling puzzled, Mum took the wand and flicked it. Luckily, Peter turned back into his old self. He still had a few feathers stuck to him though. Lucy looked at Mum and Mum looked straight back at her bewildered and said: “I didn’t get you this wand. I wonder who did…?”

 

 

By Nuha Imran 3VP

 

The Magic Carpet

It was a Sunday afternoon and I knew what was coming. We had to go to the boring Carpet Right shop. I couldn’t imagine anything worse. 

Reluctantly entering the shop with my parents, who started to look around, I quickly became bored. Wandering off to the other side of the showroom, I noticed out of the corner of my eye, a particular carpet which immediately caught my attention. 

The beautiful carpet had majestic patterns and a myriad of colours.  It seemed to be calling out to me. Without hesitation, I ran over to it and carefully stroked it. Feeling excited, I sat on it and as quick as a flash, it started to levitate! Before I knew it, I flew out of the shop though an open window. 

Anxiously, I searched everywhere for the controls, waiting for them to appear. Just as I muttered the word ‘controls’, all of the gears and levers popped out like a jack-in-a-box.

An ingenious idea suddenly hatched in my brain. I planned that I would fly to my friend Sebastian’s house and pick him up from the roof. I wanted him to experience flying on a magic carpet too. He opened the door and climbed on top of the roof just as I presumed he would. He hopped on to the carpet and we both flew away. 

I raised the carpet higher and higher until we could see black birds charging towards us. Whoosh!!  They flew right past us, nearly knocking me off! In the distance, we could see large, white planes. As we waved to the people inside the aeroplanes, we could see that they couldn’t believe their eyes. 

An hour later, we thought we ought to head back to Carpet Right. Expertly landing back into the shop showroom, my parents hadn’t even noticed I had been missing. They asked me how come Sebastian was there and I mumbled that I had just bumped into him, trying to find a better excuse. 

 

 

By Kishan Modha 6SN

 

Well done to all those children that entered- If you didn’t, maybe you could try next time as it’s good fun and helps with your writing! 

 

Keep checking the page for latest news, new books and reviews!

In the meantime- keep reading!! 

Miss Evans

Top