Menu

Queenswell Junior School

Reading

Welcome to our Reading page!

 

I hope you are all keeping well and staying safe! I hope you are all reading lots too! :-)

 

If you don't have many books at home there are websites that you can still order books online to be delivered to your home. 

https://www.lovereading4kids.co.uk/kids-zone/  this link takes you to a great website that gives you all the latest books out for children including reviews. If you go to the kids zone section there are competitions for you to enter to win books too!

Also another great website for book reviews and giveaways is Toppsta.com- check it out. I have won several books for our Library through this website and it's all free. 

 

 

TOPPSTA 15 MINUTE READING CHALLENGE!

 

Here is a Reading pack for you to download and take part in the 15 minute a day reading challenge. 

https://toppsta.com/pdf/Toppsta%20Reading%20Pack.pdf

 

p.s You can do more than 15 minutes a day though! ;-) 

The Grand Opening of our School Library!
Picture 1
Picture 2
Picture 3
Picture 4
Picture 5
Picture 6

Other Books to look out for!

 

If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, you will probably love the new book ‘Fantastical Beasts’  by J.K.Rowling.

Some of the beasts will be familiar to readers of the Harry Potter books – the Hippogriff, the Basilisk, the Hungarian Horntail … Others will surprise even the most ardent amateur Magizoologist. Dip in to discover the curious habits of magical beasts across five continents.

‘No wizarding household is complete without a copy’ – Albus Dumbledore

 

 

For older children, The Goldfish Boy is a book about a twelve-year-old boy, Matthew, is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD. Until one day his neighbour disappears and he must become a detective to solve the mystery.

This story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

 

If you have read a book that you would like to share with the school, please send your review to your class email group and your teacher will pass it on to me to get it published on this page.

Here is one by Ambra in 5LE for The Girl who speaks Bear by Sophie Anderson. 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember Matilda (Roald Dahl)? She didn't attend school for a while but she was still incredibly smart because she read, read and read all the time! So keep picking up books and keep reading! 

 

Take care and stay safe! 

Miss Evans :-)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top